Icelandic Tribune 2012 Picks

The Atom Station, by Halldor Laxnes
Ugla, an uneducated girl from the countryside, moves from an outlying area of Northern Iceland to the capital city of Reykjavík in order to work for Búi Árland, a member of parliament, and to learn how to play the organ. She’s met with a world that’s completely foreign to her: politicians and the military move freely about the city, and she views city residents as spoiled, snobbish and arrogant. In contrast, she comes from a rural area where the Icelandic Sagas of the Middle Ages constitute the majority of what people discuss and ponder and are viewed as more important than reality. These historical backgrounds are certainly important and provide crucial patterns. The prime minister subsequently carries out secret dealings with the Americans and “sells” the country. Ugla, however, also confronts other current issues, above all in the organ player’s house. There, she comes in contact with communist and anarchist mindsets and likewise protests the construction of an atom station in Iceland. After a short relationship with Búi Árland, Ugla decides to return to the “selfconscious policeman”, who is the father of her recently born child.

Absolution, by Olaf Olafsson
When he died, Peter Peterson left behind the trappings of a seemingly charmed life: a vast fortune, two children, and a stately Park Avenue address. But he left something else behind: a sheaf of confessions about a dark period of his youth. In pages written weeks before his death, he reveals a crime of passion, committed in the throes of unrequited love, that has burdened him for his entire life. Yet as he finishes his story, he encounters a surprise that will shake the very foundation of his past. Spanning a boyhood in Iceland to the Nazi occupation of Denmark to a cunning business career in modern-day Manhattan, Absolution echoes Dostoevsky and Ibsen as it masterfully plumbs the darkest corners of a sinister mind and a wounded heart.

Tainted Blood, by Arnaldur Indriðason
Published in Iceland in 2000. The novel was first published in English as Jar City, but the title was changed for following editions (although the initial title is still used in the United States).

In the original Icelandic, the novel won the Scandinavian crime writers’ Glass Key award. Arnaldur Indriðason’s following novel, Silence of the Grave, won the award in the following year also, making him the first author ever to have won the award two years running.

The Digital Hit Man, by Frank M. Ahearn
The only book that teaches people how to create and use deception for the purpose of combating sites that violate your on-line privacy, be it scandalous information, negative information or the long-lost skeleton that digitally stepped out of the closet, now making your life miserable.

The Digital Hit Man is written by the author of the bestselling book, How to Disappear: Erase Your Digital Footprint, Leave False Trails, and Vanish without a Trace. In his new book, Frank M. Ahearn divulges his weapons for combating the digital enemy.

As a skip-tracer, Frank M. Ahearn has located thousands of people from all parts of the world, including celebrities, royalty and the infamous. Frank was the go-to guy for the UK tabloids in his heyday of skip-tracing, and prior to the phone hacking scandal. As a social engineer, he has obtained confidential phone records, bank records, airline records, credit card records and other sensitive information that he will take to the grave. As a disappearing artist, Frank operated his own private witness-protection program, and assisted victims of stalkers and others who needed to disappear from danger. Since there is no delete button you can use to rid negative on-line information, Ahearn now uses his skills of pretext and digital manipulation to combat the invasion of your privacy.